Summer Peach Pie

   Image

In my opinion, there’s no better way to start the month of August than a tasty peach pie! What do you think?

Several days ago, a friend of ours gave us a peach pie from Arcangeli Co. (Aka Norm’s Market) which is located in the small community of Pescadero, California. I’ve never been to the market before, but judging from the pie, I’m sure the other stuff in there is delicious!

Although the pie looks just like any other from the surface, this pie was unlike any other pie I’ve had. It tasted natural, no preservatives and added flavors. The crust had a plain taste, only slightly sweeter than an average biscuit. The filling of the pie was peach pieces with a peachy syrup, no surprise there. The filling tasted like a Dole Fruit cup (one of my favorite snacks), except sweeter. The combination between the plain and the sweet was perfectly balanced for me because I don’t like things that are overly sweet. I thin k that this pie would go particularly well with a glass of milk, whipped cream, and some strawberries, or even just a mug coffee or hot chocolate.

Will I ever try this again? Maybe, if I lived a little closer to Pescadero. If this pie was sold in our nearby Safeway, I’d be pretty tempted to buy it. If I bought the pie again, I’d try their different flavors such as apricot or apple.

I would recommend this pie to folks who prefer pies that are plainer in taste. If you need something to satisfy your sweet tooth, this isn’t the pie you should try (That rhymed!) but it’s a nice dessert to have otherwise.

Leave a Reply

